WSL Build from source error: RInt.pcm is out of date \ cannot read module signature

ROOT Version: v6.24.06
Platform: WSL (Ubuntu 18.04)
Compiler: g++ 7.50

Hey everyone! I’m new to ROOT and I’m trying to build it from scratch on WSL using the default instructions from the main website. I’m using the latest stable build from Github. The configuration step goes through as expected without issue using

cmake -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=<installdir> <sourcedir>

I’m then building with

cmake --build . --target install

and get the following (this is a non-clean build. The same error still occurs)

[  0%] Built target OPENUI5
[  0%] Built target LZMA
[  0%] Built target VDT
[  0%] Built target TBB
[  0%] Built target xxhash
[  0%] Built target lz4
[ 73%] Built target G__SQLIO
[ 73%] Built target SQLIO
[ 73%] Built target G__Rint
[ 73%] Built target Rint
[ 73%] Generating G__Fumili.cxx, ../../lib/Fumili.pcm
<<< cling interactive line includer >>>: fatal error: module file '.../builds/root_build/lib/Rint.pcm' is out of date and needs to be rebuilt: could not read module signature
<<< cling interactive line includer >>>: note: imported by module 'Graf' in '.../builds/root_build/lib/Graf.pcm'
Error: Module 'Graf.pcm' failed to load.

I’ve been trying to look around the forum for a similar issue but haven’t found a direct solution as of yet. All of the dependencies have been installed as well as most of the optional dependencies. Any ideas of where I can look or do to help with this issue?

Just a guess; as it says:

Rint.pcm is out of date

Could it be that you had an old (not empty) build directory ? can you try to remove completely the content of the build directory before doing the build ?

Delete lib/*.pcm and r-reun the build step please: cmake --build . --target install. We know that this needs to get fixed… Does this help?

Note that at the moment (@vvassilev) the error message is reversed, and it is really complaining that Graf.pcm is out of date.