Roofit: Vavilov and gaussian convolution

Hi,
I am quite new to roofit and Root in general. I am trying to fit some energy depostion and compare the best case between models. I require to test the best fit between the convolution of a landau & Gaussian or a Vavilov & Gaussian and the data.

I managed to do the fitting with the Landau (X) Gaussian but I am stuck at the Vavilov (X) Gaussian.

I tried to follow Vavilov - Gaus Convolution with RooFit topic which allowed me to get VavilovGaussian.pdf (54.2 KB)
However, the Math::Vavilov is not adapted i think to my case due to it lacking the ability to be shifted and working on non normalized data.
I had this other Vavilov implementation which allows me to not normalize my data:

struct Vavilov_Func { 
   Vavilov_Func() {}

double operator() (const double *x, const double *p) { 
      double kappa = p[0]; 
      double beta2 = p[1];
      return p[4]*( pdf.Pdf( (x[0]-p[2])/p[3], kappa,beta2) );
   }

ROOT::Math::VavilovAccurate pdf; 
};

While I knew how to use it to get a TF1 I have no idea how to use this in Roofit to get a RooAbsPdf to then proceed with convolution.
Here is my codeTest.C (6.2 KB)

I would appreciate any help on this task!

Thanks in advance,
Florian

Hello Florian,

I don’t understand all your problems, yet, but shifting should be easy. Instead of passing x as location parameter, pass a RooLinearVar, which shifts x by an amount that you can define.

Making this a PDF that RooFit understands was discussed in the other topic, but it looks like you are missing the “ROOT math interface” for your struct. You need to inherit from ROOT::Math::IBaseFunctionMultiDim, and implement its interface. That should look something like this.

class Vavilov_Func : public ROOT::Math::IBaseFunctionMultiDim{ 
   Vavilov_Func() {}

... implement the functions required by the interface ...
   double operator() (const double *x) { 
      return pdf.Pdf(x[0], x[1], x[2]);
   }

};

Vavilov_Func vaviFunc;