Unable to re-run same script twice in cling

I posted this issue in the cling GitHub, but since I’m new to cling I’m not sure if it’s genuinely a bug—or just a misunderstanding of how cling works/is used. The GitHub issue is issue 428 in root-project/cling/issues/ But since I’m a new forum user I can’t add a link to this issue directly, and have re-described it below.

In short: as a warm-up, I wrote a little C++ script in cling. Executing it once works exactly as expected (amazing!) but running it a second time yields all sorts of errors, telling me that basic things (such as the constructor for a std::vector) are no longer defined. This happens even if I unload the script with “.U” before the second invocation. I’ve also had this same problem when trying to use cling with other libraries beyond libstdc++, which is making it hard to use cling in the way I had hoped.

In more detail:

Here’s an example that does not involve data structures from any library, and works fine: I can run this script many times, and even change the constant values between invocations. Suppose in particular that we define the file test1.cpp:

int test1() {
   int a = 9;
   int b = 12;
   int sum = a+b;

return sum;
}

Running .x test1.cpp twice from within cling produces the expected result—the script runs twice, producing the same output each time:

[cling]$ .x test1.cpp
(int) 21
[cling]$ .x test1.cpp
(int) 21

Next, consider an example that uses a std::vector. First, in order to use this data structure, I create a file test2.h:

#pragma cling add_library_path("/usr/lib/")
#pragma cling load( "libstdc++.dylib" )

#include <vector>

I also create a script test2.cpp:

int test2() {
   std::vector<int> x( 10 );

for( int i = 0; i < 10; i++ )
      x[i] = 1;

int sum = 0;
   for( int i = 0; i < 10; i++ )
      sum += x[i];

return sum;
}