Selecting Muons to Calculate the Invariant Mass of the Z Boson

Hello,

I was wondering if anyone can help answer Questions Q1, Q2, and Q4 shown in the slides of this powerpoint presentation: https://indico.cern.ch/event/528094/contributions/2172823/attachments/1321867/1983225/APSRootTutorial.pdf

It seems simple enough but I am actually not quite sure.

I would really appreciate if someone can come up with an explanation/answer to those questions.

Also, this is a question to help me further learn; it is not from a homework assignment or exam.
ROOT Version: Not Provided
Platform: Not Provided
Compiler: Not Provided

It looks like some exercises related to this tutorial.
Surely the answers to theses questions should be easy to find for someone who followed the related lesson(s).

I cannot find the specific tutorial that you are referring to?
Is it possible that I can just get help with the questions I asked.
As a beginner, I have seen different tutorials, but this is the first time I see it being done in this manner; and that is why I am asking those specific questions.

I have not read in details this PPT presentation but it seems to be a tutorial, and the answer to this questions are very likely somewhere in that presentation.
Moreover this presentation has authors:

African School of Fundamental Physics and Applications, Kigali, Rwanda
Nikolina Ilic Stanford University
with material from Heather Gray

May be it is better to ask them directly ?

Answering these questions is the homework for pupils taking this tutorial. :wink:

1 Like

Yes, I have tried to contact the author, but I have not gotten a response.
There are no answers in the powerpoint tutorial.