ROOT's kernel does not appear in Jupyter (macOs)

Hello everyone,

I kind of new with ROOT but I need it for a class and my teacher has never seen this kind of problem (which seems not new here) , root is functional for me in my terminal it works, python also recognizes it but Jupyter notebooks and Jupyter-lab won’t. I’ve seen the different previous topics here on this forum but none of them worked for me.
I’m a newbie and I don’t really know what to do, so if anyone has any ideas on what I should do I’ll be grateful !

Best regards,

Louis

_ROOT Version: 6.26/06
_Platform: MacOs
Compiler: Not Provided

Hi @Louis_phys,

How are you spawning Jupyter notebook? The most straightforward way is to do

$ root --notebook

Cheers,
J.

Thanks for your answer, yes I also tried this but here is what I get:

Ps usually I either use the jupyter-lab command or jupyter notebook one in my terminal.

Could you confirm that importing the ROOT module in a standalone Python session as in

$ python
>>> import ROOT
>>>

works?

Yes it works, to be even clearer , whenever I copy the code from a .ipynb into a .py file and run it and it works perfectly that’s what is really weird…

Which Python version are you using when it works (on the command line)?

This is Python 3.10.9

Ps: I tried to uninstall Jupyter and reinstall it (through homebrew and pip3), I’ve done the same thing for root (with brew) and I was thinking of doing the same thing for python but I’m not sure this would help.

That’s the issue. The ROOT distribution that you are using was built for Python 3.10 (and hence it works on the command line). However, your installation of Jupyter notebook seems to be using Python 3.9, which tries to load the corresponding module for that version (libcppyy3_9), which fails.

The easiest solution I can think of is to use Conda to install a ROOT distribution together with Jupyter that use the same Python version. Please, take a look at Installing ROOT - ROOT for instructions.