Root Minuit Fitting Discrepancy: Mac versus Linux installation

Hello,

Let me preface and say that I am quite green at root; I have had very little experience up until about 3 weeks ago, so I apologize :slight_smile:

I have code that I am running to extract two fit parameters from a .root data file. The code works perfectly fine on any Mac OSX root installation. I’ve tried versions: 6.19/01, 6.16/00, 6.14/06, 6.14/00 on three different MacBooks running Mojave, and everything runs fine and spits out numbers that we agree with.

Because we are preparing to ramp up some simulations and analysis, we’ve set up an Ubuntu 18.06LTS server and have built and installed root there. Here is where the crux of the problem lies: We run the macro on this root installation - same exact code, same exact data - and now the fitting portion spits out this error.

FUNCTION VALUE DOES NOT SEEM TO DEPEND ON ANY OF THE 2 VARIABLE PARAMETERS.
          VERIFY THAT STEP SIZES ARE BIG ENOUGH AND CHECK FCN LOGIC.
 *******************************************************************************
  FUNCTION VALUE DOES NOT SEEM TO DEPEND ON ANY OF THE 2 VARIABLE PARAMETERS.
          VERIFY THAT STEP SIZES ARE BIG ENOUGH AND CHECK FCN LOGIC.
Minimizer is Minuit / MigradImproved
Chi2                      =       73.565
NDf                       =           46
Edm                       =  1.07836e-11
NCalls                    =          196
#sigma_{mp}               =      671.619   +/-   1.37259      	 (limited)
T                         =      293.068   +/-   3.94207      	 (limited)

Covariance Matrix:

#sigma_{mp}           T
#sigma_{mp} 	       1.884     0.57166
T           	     0.57166      1.1072

Correlation Matrix:

#sigma_{mp}           T
#sigma_{mp} 	           1     0.39581
T           	     0.39581           1