RooHistPdf Normalization Different than Source TH1D/RooDataHist

Dear RooFit experts,

I’m fairly new to using RooFit, and I had a question about the normalization of a RooHistPdf object vs. a TH1 – sorry if this is obvious!

I’m trying to create a RooHistPdf object to use in a morphing procedure. I’ve been creating a normalized TH1D object which I use to create a RooDataHist data set, from which I then get the pdf. The problem I run into is that I expected that the RooHistPdf should completely match the RooDataHist data set, and consequently the TH1D since I’m explicitly defining the pdf from it. For whatever reason though the normalization between the two is way off. I’m not sure why this is happening or how to fix it, and I was wondering if someone with a better understanding of RooFit could explain. I’m attaching here my code on PyROOT as well as a plot of the mismatch of the TH1D and RooHistPdf. My ROOT version is 6.22.

selection = "((Jet1_M>50 || Jet2_M>50) && Jet1_pT>500 && mVH>1300 && d2V<2.0)"

#Create histogram with mY = 1800 GeV, mX = 110 GeV

file_110 = ROOT.TFile(sample, "read")
tree_110 = file_110.Get("Nominal")               
hist_110 = ROOT.TH1D("hist_110","", 50, 0, 0)
tree_110.Project("hist_110", "mV", selection)
hist_110.Scale(1/hist_110.Integral())

mV = ROOT.RooRealVar("mV","mV", 0, 500, "GeV")

#Here "hd" means histogram data: this creates a data set
#from the histogram above

hd_110 = ROOT.RooDataHist("hd_110", "hd_110",
        ROOT.RooArgList(mV), hist_110)

#This makes the pdf from the RooDataHist

pdf_110 = ROOT.RooHistPdf("pdf_110","pdf_110",ROOT.RooArgSet(mV),
        hd_110, 0)

#Plots all of these
frame = mV.frame()
pdf_110.plotOn(frame)

c = ROOT.TCanvas("c","c", 600, 400)

hist_110.SetLineColor(ROOT.kBlack)
hist_110.Draw()
frame.Draw("SAME")

c.Draw()

Here’s the plot
Norm_question.pdf (14.2 KB)