PyROOT SetBranchAddress error

I have been using PyROOT to interrogate root files for several years, successfully using the same workflow. When I installed 6.24, however, the process broke. I quickly found that AddressOf() needed to be replaced with addressof(), but then SetBranchAddress() started misbehaving.

I’m using ROOT 6.24/02,
Python 3.6.8

Here is a sample code, the point of which is to allow iteration over the data points in the TChain

import ROOT as rt

tchain = rt.TChain('Cluster')
tchain.SetMakeClass(1)
tchain.Add(datafile)
rt.gROOT.ProcessLine("struct cluster_volume_struct{Double_t cluster_volume;}")
data = rt.cluster_volume_struct()
tchain.SetBranchAddress('Cluster_volume', rt.addressof(data, 'cluster_volume'))

which (assuming datafile has been defined) generates this error:

File "/home/tecampb2/Documents/analysis/root/lib/ROOT/pythonization/_ttree.py", line 156, in _SetBranchAddress
    res = self._OriginalSetBranchAddress(*args)
TypeError: Template method resolution failed:
  none of the 3 overloaded methods succeeded. Full details:
  int TChain::SetBranchAddress(const char* bname, void* add, TBranch** ptr = 0) =>
    TypeError: could not convert argument 2
  int TChain::SetBranchAddress(const char* bname, void* add, TBranch** ptr, TClass* realClass, EDataType datatype, bool isptr) =>
    TypeError: takes at least 6 arguments (2 given)
  int TChain::SetBranchAddress(const char* bname, void* add, TClass* realClass, EDataType datatype, bool isptr) =>
    TypeError: takes at least 5 arguments (2 given)
  Failed to instantiate "SetBranchAddress(std::string,int)"

Does anybody know how to fix this error?

I guess @etejedor can help.

Hello,

I believe in this case it should work if you just do tchain.SetBranchAddress('Cluster_volume', data), since it will use the address of data which coincides with that of its member cluster_volume.

Thank you, etejedor,