Position of vertical error bars in simple plot

Hello,

I have been using root (and before that paw/hbook) for many years.
Today I run into an “unbelievable” problem.
On my Mac, when I Draw a histogram with option “e” for error bars, it decides to plot the error bars for each bin at the bins upper boundary. Hence, visible it looks as if the bins are shifted up by half a bin width. I tested with the same root version on lxplus, but here things are normal.

So, I reinstalled root on my Mac and went from root-6.20.00 to root-6.24.00 but with the same result.

On my Mac, my plot looks like this when Drawn with both option “hist e”.

On lxplus, things look normal:

Strange (and very annoying).

Best,
-Mogens

Please read tips for efficient and successful posting and posting code

_ROOT Version: root-6.24.00
_Platform: 10.15.7
_Compiler: Apple clang version 11.0.0 (clang-1100.0.33.17)

Hi,
I have never seen this when using option E . Maybe @couet has an explanations ?
A macro to reproduce this will be certainly useful

Cheers

Lorenzo

Hello,

I first noticed this is a ratio plot, but it turns out to happen also in a simply filled histogram.
As in this example:

simple.C (822 Bytes)

-Mogens

Hi,
Thanks for the script, but I cannot reproduce your problem running ROOT 6.25 and 6.24 on my Mac

Lorenzo

That is what I feared.
So what on Earth can be wrong with my Mac, I wonder.
As I said, it made no difference to update the root version.
What else could I update?
It is really very annoying (and a unbelievable feature) not to be able to make plots with error bars.
Best,
-Mogens

Your macro 'simple.C` gives me the following plots. What is wrong with them ?

Your result looks precisely as it should!
The problem is that on my Mac, bins are shifted upwards with half a bin-width when plotting with
error bars, as seen here: