Include ROOT 6.22 in Visual Studio 2019

Dear ROOTers,

(brief, skippable introduction)

I’m currently trying to combine Visual Studio (C++ CLR Empty Project (.NET Framework)) and ROOT: I need to create an analysis tool with some customizable GUI and I would like to compile it and to generate a .exe file.

It is my first time using VS, so I manage to build my first GUI, which can run with VS debugger and then I try to add as header #include <TROOT.h> and I get several errors of the following type:

• error LNK2028: unresolved token
  • error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol
  • error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol

Long story short, in the end I tried to generate a really basic code, just to figure out if I am able to include a generic ROOT header

#include <iostream>
#include <TROOT.h>

using namespace std;

int main() {
	std::cout << "Bears. Beets. Battlestar Galactica." << std::endl;
	return 0;
}

As soon as I add the line “#include <TROOT.h>” I’m getting the following outputs:

1>------ Build started: Project: TryToLoadROOT, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Source.cpp
1>C:\root_v6.22.02\include\ROOT\RWrap_libcpp_string_view.h(428,31): error C2039: ‘__find_end’: is not a member of ‘std’
1>C:\root_v6.22.02\include\ROOT\RWrap_libcpp_string_view.h(125): message : see declaration of ‘std’
1>Done building project “TryToLoadROOT.vcxproj” – FAILED.

I tried to google a bit and I found this thread. I tried to apply what’s suggested there and I get other errors:

1>------ Build started: Project: TryToLoadROOT, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Source.cpp
1>Source.obj : error LNK2019: unresolved external symbol “public: __thiscall TVersionCheck::TVersionCheck(int)” (??0TVersionCheck@@QAE@H@Z) referenced in function “void __cdecl ROOT::Internal::`dynamic initializer for ‘gVersionCheck’'(void)” (??__EgVersionCheck@Internal@ROOT@@YAXXZ)
1>C:\Users\manaigof\source\repos\TryToLoadROOT\Debug\TryToLoadROOT.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals