How to add experimental resolution to a 1D Histogram in root

Hi,
I am quite new to root.
Can someone tell me how to smear my theoritical mass spectra with my experimental mass resolution ?
The experimental mass resolution is 3.5 amu. I want to incorporate this mass resolution in the mass spectrum which I obtain from my theory calculation and want to see how the width changes.

Thanking you in advance!

Welcome to the ROOT forum.
Have you looked at the ROOT tutorials ? the ROOT forum ?

Yes, i have gone through the root tutorials and I had made a macro to do this. But It has some problems. i am sharing the marco, unfortunately I cant upload the root files.

void MassResolution()
{

TH1D*h2_Mass_resolution = new TH1D("h2_Mass_resolution","h2_Mass_resolution",101.,39.5,140.5); // Defined a histogram

TFile *file=TFile::Open("QnmFF_ROOT_Au_158.root");
TTree *tree=(TTree*)file->Get("DITY");

TH1D*h1 = new TH1D("h1","Os_187.46_MeV",101.,39.5,140.5);
h1->SetLineColor(kRed);
tree->Draw("Aff1>>h1"); // retrived histogram fom the TTree

Double_t x1,y1,z;
Double_t content=0;
Double_t sigma=3.5;

const UInt_t nX = h1->GetNbinsX();

for(UInt_t i=1;i<=nX;++i)
	{
		x1 = h1->GetXaxis()->GetBinCenter(i);
                y1 = h1->GetBinContent(i);
                z = h1->GetBinWidth(i);

TF1 *f1 = new TF1("f1","TMath::Gaus(x,[1],[2])",40,140);
f1->SetParameter(0,y1);
f1->SetParameter(1,sigma);

h2_Mass_resolution->Fill(x1, f1->GetRandom()); 

}

which problems ?

that would help though …

Assuming that “Aff1” is in “amu” units and you want to add a Gaussian smearing with “3.5 amu” sigma, you could try:

tree->Draw("Aff1 + 3.5 * TMath::Sqrt2() * TMath::ErfInverse(2. * rndm() - 1.) >> h1"); // inverse Gaussian CDF transform sampling

The problem as you can see from the image, I am not getting the smeared histogram.
Red is my Theoritical data, to which I want to add my mass resolution of 3.5 amu. and when I run my macro I get the blue histogram which is not correct.