How can I import CLASSES from .DLL by external compiler?

Hi there,
I am a beginner in ROOT and VC++.
How can I import classes like TStopwatch or TComplex from .dll libraries of ROOT
using VC++ 8.0 environment?
I need this to build .exe file of the project to speed up the calculation.
When I tried to use method with FARPROC pointer the message that TStopwatch is not a class or namespace appears.
Was these DLLs compiled without __declspec() options to classes?
Is the only way to compile the ROOT project with classes support under Windows to use Cygwin?
Where can I find the detailed instruction on how to do this?

Thanks a lot for future reply.

Hi,

I’m not sure to really understand your problem, but you must link with the .lib files (i.e. add the libraries in the input field of the linker options of your project). If you don’t know how to proceed, just post a zip file with your project, and I will correct it.

Cheers,
Bertrand.

[quote=“bellenot”]Hi,

I’m not sure to really understand your problem, but you must link with the .lib files (i.e. add the libraries in the input field of the linker options of your project). If you don’t know how to proceed, just post a zip file with your project, and I will correct it.

Cheers,
Bertrand.[/quote]

I have done this but with the same result. In this case I can use without any problem functions from .DLLs but can not use classes like TComplex or TStopwatch.

With best regards.

Which Root libraries are you linking with your application ?
Can you post your application to allow me to take a look ?

– Bertrand.

[quote=“bellenot”]Which Root libraries are you linking with your application ?
Can you post your application to allow me to take a look ?

– Bertrand.[/quote]

Here is my simple source file and the project without .ncb file.
This is version with FARPROC pointer.

The error message
1>------ Build started: Project: tot, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>Compiling…
1>Totpr.cpp