Help with PYROOT

I am a newbie with Pyroot. And I need some help. I have a histogram and I need to find the error per bin. I don’t really understand how can I do this?
The histogram is already available and I cannot change the histogram data.
Any help would be appreciated.

See the documentation of TH1:
Double_t error = h->GetBinError(bin);

Thank you for your help! I am trying this out. But I want to know if it is the same thing like getting error bars?
I know error bars give me sqrt(contents) which is basically the error. Is it the same for GetBinError?

Thank you :slight_smile:

The documentation says:

Associated errors

By default, for each bin, the sum of weights is computed at fill time. One can also call TH1::Sumw2 to force the storage and computation of the sum of the square of weights per bin. If Sumw2 has been called, the error per bin is computed as the sqrt(sum of squares of weights), otherwise the error is set equal to the sqrt(bin content). To return the error for a given bin number, do:

Double_t error = h->GetBinError(bin);

Thank you for your response.

Could you tell me how can I add this to the Pyroot.
Is this correct?

for i in range(bin):
histo.GetBinError(bin)
return histo

Just try… (why return histo?)

return histo because I want to see the histo as well. I tried to run. It works. But is it possible to get the error in value and also the mean error in terms of value?

Also I tried to use:
gStyle.SetOptStat(“emr”)
gStyle.SetOptFit(1111)

Does this give me a mean of the errors of the bin?

See TH1::GetMean and TH1::GetMeanError

See the TStyle::SetOptStat and TStyle::SetOptFit documentation

1 Like

Thank you for your help Bellenot!

There is one thing which I don’t understand; I am sorry I am new to this platform.

The GetMeanError gives me the mean of the errors of each bin?

for i in range(bin)
MeanError = histo.GetMeanError(bin)
print (MeanError)

Is it like this?