General Minuit2 Minimization interface questions

I have a few questions regarding the Minuit2 minimization package via the ROOT Minimization interface. I apologize if they are very naive. I’m just starting to learn how to use the interface:

1. Where can I a more detailed explanation of the output from Minuit2 when using the Minimization interface? I typically set the print level to 3.

2. What are the meanings of the different variables passed to the Scan method and is there a preferred way to call the Scan method?

3. When using Minuit2 to minimize a Log Likelihood function, what is the standard (or best) way to make a LogL vs parameter value plot?

Thank you in advance for your reply (and your patience!).

When using printlevel=3 the result of each iteration is printed. You have :

FVAL : function value for that iteration
EDM: expected distance from the minimum. This is the quantity used for the convergence of the iteration. When is smaller than tolerance the minimisation is stopped
Nfcn :: number of function calls
Error matrix change: how much the error matrix changes in the iteration
Parameters: value of the fit parameters (variables of the function to be minimised). The user value is printed (Minuit applies internally a transformation)

The signature is

bool Scan(unsigned int i , unsigned int & nstep , double * x , double * y , double xmin , double xmax);
i is the parameter index
nstep: is the number of points to scan
x is the returned array with the scanned x points
y is the array with the returned y values
xmin is an optional parameter with the minimum parameter value to scan
xmax is the maximum parameter value.
In case xmim and xmax are not given the scan will be done in +/- 2 error on the parameter
Sorry if the documentation is not clear on this. I will fix it.

You can call Scan after having done the minimisation. For example you can do this to scan the parameter ipar

int npoints = 20;
std::vector<double> x(20);
std::vector<double> y(20);