Fitting and Minimizing 5 parameter function

Hello,

I am currently an undergraduate student and for the past few days I have been trying to fit a single variable function with 5 parameters.

This is for Muon Life Time and we’re using Scintilators. The model we were told to use was:

f(t)= Background + N1exp(-t/tau1) +N2exp(-t/tau2)
I wrote:
Fitter=new TF1(“Chi-it”,"[0]+ [1] * TMath::Exp(-(x/[2])) + [3] * TMath::Exp(-(x/[4]))",leftbound,rightbound);

I wrote a Monte Carlo Simulation to check how I would do this fit.

Here’s what I’ve tried:

1. Use my “Fitter” as:
    myhist->Fit(“Chi-it”);

So far, the resulting value is highly dependent on initially set parameters of my Fitter.
The “Perfect Fit” is when my tau1=tau2 and N1=N2, so I am really fitting one exponential function.
Ratio between N1 and N2 is supposed to be close to 1:9.
Also, often the chi-squared minimization fails to converge

2)As I am generating a uniform random Background,
N1 type events and N2 type events.
I keep them in individual arrays and have three separate histograms then set 3 different TF1 and get their parameters and insert them(FixParameter) in my Fitter.
Minimization of chi-squared value fails to converge if I generate over 10,000,000 events.

FitBack=new TF1(“Background”,"[0]",leftbound,rightbound);
Fitone=new TF1(“India”,"[0]*TMath::Exp(-x/[1])",leftbound,rightbound);
Fitone1=new TF1(“India1”,"[0]*TMath::Exp(-x/[1])",leftbound,rightbound);

//Puc=Ionization Count, Test2=Background Count, Test3=muon
Puc.Draw();
Puc.Fit(“India”);
Can3.cd(2);
Test2.Draw();
Test2.Fit(“Background”);
Can3.cd(3);
Test3.Draw();
Test3.Fit(“India1”);

1. if I use the parameters successfully found from 2), the resulting Guided Fitter with Fixed Parameters make a great fit and N1:N2 is comparable to 1:9.

Guided.FixParameter(0,Test2.GetFunction(“Background”).GetParameter(0) );
Guided.FixParameter(1,Puc.GetFunction(“India”).GetParameter(0));
Guided.FixParameter(2,Puc.GetFunction(“India”).GetParameter(1));