FITS image file support

Hello everybody. I’m new to ROOT and I have been doing some tests in order to see whether it is a suitable platform for developing astronomy software. I have navigated thru the Reference Guide and I’ve seen that there exists a enumeration constant TImage::kFits, which lead me to think that ROOT supports this kind of image. However I can’t find any library within the ROOT’s directory tree for accessing FITS files. Furthermore, TASImage is a layer for interfacing libAfterImage, which doesn’t support FITS (as far as I know). My question is: should I create a layer for accessing FITS using for example the publicly available cfitsio library? Will ever ROOT come with FITS support by means of a plugin like TASImage? I’ve read some messages in the digest referring to FITS but they are quite old. Does anybody know some kind of plugin for supporting FITS (before I make my own)? I know there exists AstroROOT, however I think there are some incompatibilities with Microsoft Windows, and I need cross compatibility with Windows, MAC OS X and Linux. Maybe I could just “steal” the source code related with FITS from AstroROOT.

Thanks in advance!

Claudi

Hi Claudi,

Your analysis is correct. We will be happy to include interfaces to FITS from TASImage if you provide one.
Currently TASIMage is interfaced with libAfterImage only, but we could support multiple interfaces.

Rene