Fit w/ Gaussian and Linear Background

I’d like to do an unbinned fit with a pdf that’s a basic gaussian with fixed parameters and an adjustable linear background. I have an attached data set that should be a small/nonexistent gaussian yield and a basic small slope. I’m a RooFit beginner, so I understand that part of the problem with this is that the a simple m*x+b formula doesn’t normalize to 1, and that the formula will by definition be negative at some point. The linear background should never be negative over the provided range, but I don’t understand how to encode that inequality into a RooFormulaVar.

using namespace RooFit;

void linfit(){
  TFile *f = new TFile("Linefit.root");
  TTree *t = (TTree*)f->Get("G2 m4 T");

RooRealVar En("Energy","Energy",690,790);

RooRealVar mean("mean","mean",735);
  RooRealVar fwhm("fwhm","fwhm",5);
  RooGaussian gss("gss","gss",En,mean,fwhm);

RooRealVar c1("c1","c1",1,-1000,1000);
  RooRealVar c2("c2","c2",1,-1000,1000);
  RooGenericPdf linear("linear","c1+c2*(Energy)",RooArgList(c1,c2,En));

RooRealVar sigy("sigy","sigy",1,0,10000);
  RooRealVar bkgy("bkgy","bkgy",1,0,10000);

RooAddPdf model("model","model",RooArgList(gss,linear),RooArgList(sigy,bkgy));

RooDataSet data("data","data",RooArgSet(En),Import(*t));

model.fitTo(data,Range(690,790),Extended());

RooPlot *P = En.frame();
  data.plotOn(P);
  model.plotOn(P);
  model.plotOn(P,Components(gss),LineColor(kRed));
  P->Draw();
}

Any assistance is appreciated!

ForumPost.C (852 Bytes)
Linefit.root (318.3 KB)

@StephanH, please can you help here?

Oksana

Hi @usccaa,

what is happening if you run the fit? Error messages? It does not converge?
Uploading a picture of the distribution would also be helpful because people could look at it without having to download and run the example.

Now, that I downloaded and ran the example, there are a couple of things to say:

• You can get it to work by ensuring that the slope is positive.