FeldmanCousins too slow

Dear expert

I am new to RooFit/RooStats and trying to get a confidence interval from FeldmanCousins method. I did a 4D fit with my own complex PDF, with analytical integral. To get the upper limit of 3 interesting parameters, I tried FeldmanCousins and MCMCCalculator. The FeldmanCousins method is very slow, taking several days to process 20 steps over 1000. Is there any ways to make it faster.

Thanks,

Haofei

Hi,

The problem is in that every toy that is generated in the FC methods, needs to be fitted in order to compute the profile likelihood ratio. This can be very slow, especially if your model is complicated and requires complex normalisation integral to be computed.
It is possible, although not common, that in some cases some un-necessary computations are done and some simple model modifications might speed up the calculations.
If you send me your workspace, I could have a look to speed it up. Otherwise, the alternative is to use the asymptotic results, based on the likelihood. Are your 3 parameters of interests close to a boundary ? In that case the asymptotic formulae are maybe not valid or need to be corrected ?

Best Regards

Lorenzo

Hi Lorenzo

Thank you. The workspace is uploaded, as well as the code doing the hypothesis test.

RooArgSet parameters(D0, Dpara, Dperp);
    RooArgSet myObservables(pipi, kk, plane, f0mass, phimass);
    RooArgSet allparameters = workspace->allVars();
    allparameters.remove(myObservables, kTRUE, kTRUE);
    allparameters.remove(parameters, kTRUE, kTRUE); 
    ModelConfig modelConfig;
    modelConfig.SetWorkspace(*workspace);
    modelConfig.SetPdf(limit);
    modelConfig.SetNuisanceParameters(allparameters);
    modelConfig.SetParametersOfInterest(parameters);
    RooStats::FeldmanCousins fc(*data,modelConfig);
    fc.SetConfidenceLevel(0.9);
    fc.UseAdaptiveSampling(true);
    fc.FluctuateNumDataEntries(false); // number counting analysis: dataset always has 1 entry with N events observed