Error trying to graph " can't open display"

Hi, I use root in the windows 10 ubuntu subsystem and to be able to graph I found that I must install Xming. After installing it, and trying to graph something easy, I get the following error:

Error in <TGClient::TGClient>: can't open display ":0", switching to batch mode...
 In case you run from a remote ssh session, reconnect with ssh -Y
Info in <TCanvas::MakeDefCanvas>:  created default TCanvas with name c1

Thanks for the help. I am new to root and ubuntu so a specific answer would be appreciated.

@vpadulan @jblomer IIRC you had some experience with WSL, could you share what needs to be done to get Xming to work with WSL?

I didn’t use X11 with WSL2 myself, but there are some guides on how to set it up, e.g. this one.

I read that Microsoft is about to bundle a Wayland server with WSL2, which should very much simplify running graphical applications (including X11 apps through the XWayland compatibility layer).

1 Like

Hi, I decided to install Ubuntu 19 in a virtualbox and installed root 6.22. When I start root it shows me the following message:

**ERROR in cling::CIFactory::createCI(): cannot extract standard library include paths!**
**Invoking:**
**  LC_ALL=C x86_64-linux-gnu-g++-9  -O3 -DNDEBUG -xc++ -E -v /dev/null 2>&1 | sed -n -e '/^.include/,${' -e '/^ \/.*++/p' -e '}'**
**Results was:**
**With exit code 0**

So far root has worked correctly, but looking at the tutorials one of the examples was calling the interference pattern code root slits.C and it showed me the following error:

error: expected ';' after expression
root slits.C
    ^
    ;
ROOT_prompt_40:1:6: error: use of undeclared identifier 'slits'
root slits.C
     ^

Because of these two errors, I don’t really know if I installed root cern correctly or if I will have problems in the future, I want to know.

From where are you using slits.C ?
$ROOTSYS/documentation/primer/macros ?

Does sudo apt install g++ help?