Draw Lines on Histograms

HI, I’m new to ROOT and I’m trying to figure out how to add vertical lines (sort of like markers along the x-axis) to a histogram plot.

self.histoDict[ patient.id ][ str(iz) ][ "IntenPosiKV" ] = TH1F("IntenPosiKV", "Intensity vs Position (KV) for slice " + str(nz - iz) + " of " + str(nz), 270,0,270)

self.histoDict[ patient.id ][ str(iz) ][ "IntenPosiKV" ].Fill(iy, avgIntensity)

I tried this:

self.histoDict[ patient.id ][ str(iz) ][ "IntenPosiKV" ].Add( TLine(0,10,0,100), const )

Any help is appreciated!

Hi,

to draw lines on the same canvas where the histogram has been drawn, just draw the line with the “same” option.
You can have a look to these basic, but important, functionalities following the suggestions for beginners’ courses here root.cern.ch/getting-started .

Cheers,
Danilo

Hi, the courses seem to be for C++ ROOT, while I’m currently using Pyroot at the moment.

When you say draw the line with the “same” option, do you mean:

?

I think you should take a look to the documentation nevertheless: it is full of examples of how to draw objects of various kinds. The translation to Python is straightforward.
And no, the line shall not be “added to the histogram” created and drawn separately.

myHisto.Draw()
#[...]
myline=TLine(0,10,0,100)
myline.Draw("same")
1 Like
myline.Draw()

Is enough. No need for option “same”.

Hi, thanks for the tip - I’ll have a look at the documentation. Meanwhile I tried what you mentioned and the line didn’t appear. Could it because I have two canvases in the same loop?

Here’s the code in the loop:

for iz in range(nz):

self.rootFile.mkdir( os.path.join( patient.id, str(iz) ) )   
        self.rootFile.cd( os.path.join( patient.id, str(iz) ) )
        self.histoDict[ patient.id ][ str(iz) ] = {}
        self.histoDict[ patient.id ][ str(iz) ][ "IntenPosiKV" ] = TH1F("IntenPosiKV",\