Creating Macros in ROOT

Hello everyone,

I am a summer student at CERN and participated in the ROOT workshop last week. Unfortunately, I found the workshop difficult and felt excluded, as I have no prior experience with the command line and felt that the workshop was better suited for non-beginners. Nevertheless, I am starting to go through the workshop material at my own pace now, with the help of the ROOT primer and manual.

The sources I mentioned above are good at explaining how to execute a ROOT macro. However, none explain how to actually make a ROOT macro. For instance, the manual says to:

Create a new file in your preferred text editor.

This is not explained further and is foreign to me. The workshop, primer, and manual all assume that I know how to do this. But I do not. Surely, more summer students and ROOT beginners have faced this problem before. So why do the primer, manual, and workshop material not mention this further? But if it is hidden somewhere I have not found, I apologize. I also apologize if someone has asked this already here, but I searched and could not find it.

So, could someone please explain how I can make a macro from the command line? I have connected to lxplus. Any (lighter) material suggestions where I can read about the command line in Linux would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time and help.

Welcome to the ROOT forum.

The use of a text editor is assumed to be a beginner’s knowledge that’s why it is not explained in more detail in the documentation. You can find the definition of a “text editor” in many places on the web. For instance:

" A text editor is a simple computer program that allows users to create, change, or edit plain text files . It can be used for creating computer programs"

Examples of such programs are vi, vim, nano etc …

I hope it helps.

1 Like

Hi @astongea,