CLs upper limits, without RooFit, RooStats packages

Hi everyone,

I need some help with the CLs method, used for setting upper limits. I have some background histograms, signal histograms (beyond SM models) and data histograms. I am trying to set upper limits to my signal in the context of my MSc thesis.

However, my supervising professor has advised me to write my own code, and not use the RooFit/RooStats packages. I am struggling with understanding the whole statistical procedure of setting observed and expected limits, as well as with writing code that implements it.

Any help will be much appreciated!

Thanks in advance!

Hi,

You can setup all the procedure without RooFit/RooStats, but it will require you a lots of time, especially if your model is not a simple one (e.g. a counting experiment).
I think it is better using the tools, but at the same time try to understand them and not using as a black box

Lorenzo

Hi Lorenzo,

First of all, thanks for you reply!

Actually, in my previous post I didn’t specify the fact that I have managed to create some things from scratch without using any specific tool (e.g. binned likelihood function, CRs, SRs, profile likelihood function, q_mu test statistic), so I have some code already.

I have read many papers and tutorials on the CLs method, however, I have some practical questions regarding the procedure. For example, how does one calculate the observed value of the test statistic (q_obs) for the signal + background, and background only hypothesis, how exactly to use the Asimov dataset in order to extract the expected limits, etc.

Any clarification will be more than welcome!

Thanks in advance!

Hi Panagiotis,

If you have already researched papers and tutorials on CLs, you might have already encountered the following paper:

Following this paper you can find the p-value for any possible limit \mu from formulas (59) or (67).