Can't Fill TH2F after I split my code in multiple files

Hello everyone,

I’m an italian student and I’ve been working on a lot of data for my thesis in physics, using ROOT to plot histograms and graphs: I’ll get to the point straight ahead.

My source code, a single .cpp file, looked kind of like this:

#include < all the libraries i need >
< declaration of the various functions, with all the instructions > 
int main ()
{
     TH1F h1 = ( ... );
     TH2F h2 = (  "", "", nBins, -range1, range1, nBins, -range2, range2 );
     // fill histograms here
     while ( things happen )
     {
          h1.Fill( v[i] );
          h2.Fill( v[i], w[i] );
          i++;
     }
     < print histograms here >;
     return 0;
}

Everything was fine, and I could correctly plot the scatterplot I needed to show a correlation between two variables. Here’s a draft.

Having made lots of custom functions for data analysis, I have decided to split my code into three different parts:
1- header file: functions.h -> names of the functions and all c++ and ROOT libraries are declared here.
2- functions.cpp: what the various functions do appears here + #include “functions.h” on top
3- main.cpp: no need to explain this, nothing changed here + #include “functions.h” on top
The code is compiled correctly.

Now, my source code looks quite like this:

#include "functions.h"

int main ()     // nothing changed here
{
      TH1F h1 = ( ... );
      TH2F h2 = (  "", "", nBins, -range1, range1, nBins, -range2, range2 );
     // fill histograms here
     while ( things happen )
     {
          h1.Fill( v[i] );
          h2.Fill( v[i], w[i] );
          i++;
     }
     < print histograms here >;
     return 0;
}