Write a subfunction to integral

Hi rooter,
I want to make an integration of my functions after I use them to fill the original data sets. It is a little bit tedious because I have 4 histograms x 8 different data sets. I want to simply write a subfunction so that right after I obtain these parameters from the fitting, I could got some numbers as a result of the integration. However, I totally got lost how to write a subfunction, especially I have little experience on C++

Hi,

I am not sure what you mean by subfunction. Could you clarify?
Are you trying to obtain a 1D function F which is the integral of f after f has been fit on a histogram?

Cheers,
Danilo

Sorry for the unclear expression. I tried to obtain some numbers from the integrating functions. Specifically, I want to integrate something like f= [0]exp(-xx/2./[1]/[1])+[2]exp(-xx/2./[3]/[3]), and these 4 parameters are from fitting the data(4 histograms per data sets, there are 8 data sets). I wonder whether I could write a function, F= something, that after I fit the data and got parameters I could simply set these parameters in F and it will directly output some numbers for me.

Hi,
should be quite easy, after the fit you have to call

f->Integral(a,b);

Cheers
Stefano

Ps

You can use also TMath for define the sum of the gaussian, at least for me the code is more readable.

TF1 *f = new TF1("f"," [0]*TMath::Gaus(x,0,[1]) + [2]*TMath::Gaus(x,0,[3])",0,10);
1 Like

Hi,
Thanks for the suggestion, I tried this method and it could work, just a little bit tedious because I have 4 histograms per data sets, and each histogram is described by four functions. I need each function’s contribution so that I need define a lot of functions and repeat the similar code again and again. I just wonder whether there is a better way to write a new function so that I could simply set different parameters to this function and then obtain the numerical result.

Ok,
If I understood well you have
8 data sets