Working with histograms without modifying the original one

Hi,

I have been dealing with this issue since the beginning and although I found a way of doing this it becomes really inefficient when the number of histograms increase. I will try to explain the issue and then ask the question because I am afraid it will be confusing.

What I would like to do is to get histograms from different files and work with them (sometimes I have to add them or sometimes I need to modify them based on different conditions). The point is that I don’t want to modify the original histogram. When doing something like

TH1D *h = (TH1D*)file->Get("histoname")

everything that I do to h will remain if later I need to get the original histogram again. The way of doing this is to clone the histogram as far as I know

I have been doing this for a couple of years and this works. I can get all the histogram that I want, add them together and later, if I want the original histogram, I just get it again in the same way and there it is, unchanged. The issue is that when the number of files and hisotgrams I have to use increases, the performance gets worse and worse because for each iteration (I might need to loop over thousands of histograms) the memory taken increases and the processing times also increase.

I found a discussion in which they say to use GetObject, i.e.

TH1D* histo;
file->GetObject("hname",histo);

To avoid the clone and speed it up. Actually this increase the speed a lot and memory usage improves but although I though it does the same as the clone, it does not. I noticed that when I add histograms together the original ones gets modified which means that the results are all wrong when later I use the histogram again. For example, imagine a case in which I have 4 samples, each one with an histogram. I might want to get the total of them as a total background of a given analysis. What I do is: