Which model of MC method is implemented in AvalancheMC?

Hi I am studying about Avalanche method in garfield++

I wanna ask question about MC method implemented in garfield++

Normally MC method describing avalanche method is using band calculation but when i give a look at AvalancheMC code, it seems to use local electric field model and give randomness.

Can u let me know which kind of MC model is implemented in garfield++? It will be really helpful if you can give me name of MC model and reference

Always thanks for your help

I found reference but process describing avalanche in AvalanchMC is different comparing to well known monte carlo method.

Can i ask reason why garfield use different avalanche mechanism?

Hi,
thanks for the ping and sorry for the late reply!
You are right, the method implemented in AvalancheMC is not a “microscopic” Monte Carlo simulation. It uses macroscopic transport parameters like drift velocity, diffusion coefficients and Townsend coefficient to simulate drift lines.
If I understood your message correctly, a technique similar to what you have in mind is implemented in AvalancheMicroscopic but at the moment it only works for gases. I did try to extend it to silicon a few years ago but the code is not properly tested/debugged so it’s not really useable at the moment. It would be great to get it to work but that would require a significant effort.

Thanks for your kind answer! Actually I saw previous cern’s report about silicon simulation and their exist data about describing LGAD simulation using garfield++. So we can conclude that report is described with macroscopic simulation.

Then my question is, is that macroscopic monte carlo simulation of silicon detector goes well with real measured data? It will be really helpful if i can get comparison reference or similar things

your answer always help me a lot thanks

Hi,