When is it a bug?

Hello,

I am new to ROOT. Last week I started to get used to it. I first wanted to understand the interpreter language. I have encountered several cases of unexpected behaviour, of which I am not sure whether these are bugs or not. The reasons that I hesitate are twofold:

1. I am a software developer, not a physicist, so my expectations may be different than the usual ones.
  2. I cannot find an exact description of the interpreter language. Rather I find some vague descriptions like “CINT covers about 95% of ANSI C and 85% of C++” (but I cannot find an exact description of the 5%-15% of differences, “CINT is not designed to be a 100% ANSI/ISO compliant C++ language processor. It is a portable scripting language environment, which is close enough to the standard C++.” (but “close enough” is not defined).

So it might be that unexpected behaviour is there because my expectations were wrong. This makes it difficult to decide whether something is a bug or not. I have two examples:

a) When I start a new ROOT session and I type

then ROOT exits with a large error dump.
I understand that ROOT cannot run when this object is deleted, but I expected that such an important object would be protected with e.g. a private destructor. Probably this is not a bug, but just a wrong expectation.

b) When I start a new ROOT session and I type

then ROOT exists also with a large error dump.
The documentation says that there is some support for the RTTI of C++.
typeid and dynamic_cast are the two most important operators for the RTTI. It seems that the typeid operator is known to the interpreter. Is it still wrong to expect some useful result from it?

I understand that it is difficult to explain when unexpected behaviour is a bug, but maybe someone can tell me when I should create a bug report.
As a newbie I hesitate to start creating a lot of bug reports.

Hi,