Using TBranch::Fill

Hi,

In my code, I write some variables and I fill some branches but I need to treat them separately, do you know a method of TTree to make the link between the branches and the tree like I cannot use the TTree::Fill method ?
I really need help because I’m a new PhD student and I learn to use root.
Thank you in advance,

Jérôme

Hi,

Use TTree::SetEntries(Long64_t n = -1):

[quote] Change number of entries in the tree.

If n >= 0, set number of entries in the tree = n.

If n < 0, set number of entries in the tree to match the
number of entries in each branch. (default for n is -1)

This function should be called only when one fills each branch
independently via TBranch::Fill without calling TTree::Fill.
Calling TTree::SetEntries() make sense only if the number of entries
in each branch is identical, a warning is issued otherwise.
The function returns the number of entries.[/quote]

Cheers,
Philippe.

Hello,

Thank you for your answer. This method works very well if each branch has the same number of entries, but, in my case, they have different number of entries. To illustrate, I’m using Muon objects and LooseMuon objects, which are muons but after a given selection.

Jérôme

Hi Jerome,

The branches of the same TTree must have the same number of entries. If you need branches with different number of entries, you will need to create 2 TTree, associate them together with TTree::AddFriend and link the entries together by creating an index (via TTree::BuildIndex).

Alternatively, you could tweak your data model. If I guessing your use case correctly, the typical use case is to use 2 collections, one for the Muon and one for the LooseMuon and to have only one TTree entry for each “event”. i.e. each TTree entry will containing many Muons. FurtherMore If LooseMuon is a subset of Muon, you could have one collection of Muons and then the looseMuon can be a collection of references (for example a TRefArray) to the Muons.

Cheers,
Philippe.