User Defined TF1 Fit Problem in Class

Hello,
I am a newbie on roottalk, so I appologise if these questions are inappropriate. I have been trying to do fits of user defined functions, but they don’t seem to be behaving as I’d wished. It could just be down to bad programming. There are two fits, an initial one and a final one which uses a convoluting loop, and it is this final fit which is not behaving. It seems to continue to run the function after it has tried to fit it, and seems to change the _binwidth variable in the process, although I don’t know how. I have admittedly taken a shortcut in using a static pointer to the class to access member variables in the fits.
What have I done wrong?

Cheers,
Toby Davies

I am using Red Hat Linux, Fermi Linux Release 7.3.1 (Bottom), 2.4.20-30.7smp, i686, and it does the same thing on root versions 4.00/08 and 3.05/07
Imp.tar (8.13 KB)

Hi,
So probably the problem is the function pointer (i’m just guessing) so why not try without
member function pointer and write the function in global space?
What I’m talking is about the line:

_FDFunc = new TF1("_FDFunc",TDImpFit::FD,-0.007,0.007,2);

and the ::FD function.

Hi,
there are two fits in the code, _FDFunc and _ImpFunc; the FD fucntion works fine, and does everything that I expect it to do so I assumed that that was the correct syntax. It is the _ImpFunc that does not work.
So as a separate question, does the function have to be in the global space? I was hoping for the class to have the ability be instantiated several times upon a range of histograms (I’m not sure if this is possible in the present state of the class because the functions in different classes would have the same root name). Still, even if this is possible, surely it can recognise the function within the class…?

Cheers,
Toby

edit —sorry -being stupid- the definition of the function could be global (it’s static anyway…) and still used by the TF1 classes… I think…

Hi,