Use Root in Microsoft Visual C++ Express 2010

Hello everybody,

Im a complete newbe at root. I was looking around the forum to find out how to set up VC++ (WinXP) in a way such that I can use the root framework within VC++. However everything I found was to complicated for me or it didn´t work. So I would be very greatfull if somebody could explain to me how to do so. What Im trying to do is write programs in VC++ and using the root classes. Id be very thankful for your help.

Best Regards,

Laura

[quote=“Laura”]Hello everybody,

Im a complete newbe at root. I was looking around the forum to find out how to set up VC++ (WinXP) in a way such that I can use the root framework within VC++.
Laura[/quote]

Thanks to

rootbuilder.codeplex.com/

• this is trivial procedure today and you do not need cygwin. The only problem - I was using Express 2008, not 2010 and I was not able to compile with 2010 because of MS std library (in fact it was not really interesting for me and I simply stick to VS Express 2008)

Ok thank you very much,
so I now installed VC++ Express 2008. I used root builder to create my project. I then manually opened the root_build_project file with VC++. I then click build and get the following error message:

1>------ Erstellen gestartet: Projekt: ROOT Build, Konfiguration: IFMPRoot Win32 ------
1>Die Makefile-Projektaktionen werden ausgeführt.
1>vside/setup_config_IFMPRoot.sh: ./configure: No such file or directory
1>make: *** No targets specified and no makefile found. Stop.
1>Projekt : error PRJ0002 : Fehler “2” wurde von “C:\WINDOWS\system32\cmd.exe” zurückgegeben.
1>Das Buildprotokoll wurde unter “file://c:\root\bin\BuildLog.htm” gespeichert.
1>ROOT Build - 1 Fehler, 0 Warnung(en)
========== Erstellen: 0 erfolgreich, Fehler bei 1, 0 aktuell, 0 übersprungen ==========

My plan is to create a project that lets me run a code snippet like the following out of VC++:

Double_t w = 600;
Double_t h = 600;
TCanvas * c1 = new TCanvas(“c”, “c”, w, h);