Undefined symbols error in root dictionary made with rootcint

Hi rooters,

This post is related to this recent discussion about wrapping a c++ class for python using rootcint. I am trying to do a more complicated implementation of the example done in the linked discussion, and running into some issues. I am easily able to wrap a simple c++ class using the method in the link, but things fell apart when I tried to use some non-standard c++ objects in the class. In particular, I cannot use the RAT toolkit, which is a c++ wrapper for GEANT4. If I leave out the lines of code that use RAT, the method below works fine, but if I include them, I get an unidentified symbol error. As a disclaimer, I am new to this type of thing, so I may missing something obvious. Here is a simplified version of what I am doing: I have a class AnalysisManager…
AnalysisManager.h:

# include "TFile.h"

class AnalysisManager{
	public:
		TFile* f;
		AnalysisManager() {}
		virtual void func(TFile* f);
};

AnalysisManager.cc:

# include "AnalysisManager.h"
# include "TFile.h"
# include <RAT/DS/Root.hh>

void AnalysisManager::func(TFile* f) { 
	f->ls(); // does some stuff with the file
	RAT::DS::Root* r = new RAT::DS::Root(); // this causes the unidentified symbol error
	delete r;
}

I have a file called AnalysisManagerLinkDef.h which rootcint can use to make a root dictionary. AnalysisManagerLinkDef.h:

#ifdef __MAKECINT__
#pragma link C++ class AnalysisManager+;
#endif

With these three files, I can use rootcint to make the dictionary (analysismanagerdict.cxx) and compile it and the AnalysisManager.cc file into a shared library called libanalysismanager.so:

$ rootcint -f analysismanagerdict.cxx -c AnalysisManager.h AnalysisManagerLinkDef.h
$ g++ -I$ROOTSYS/include -c -fpic analysismanagerdict.cxx -o ./analysismanagerdict.o
$ g++ -I$ROOTSYS/include -I$RATROOT/include -L$RATROOT/lib -lrat -c -fpic AnalysisManager.cc -o ./AnalysisManager.o