Trying to get each evenement independently

Hello;

I would like to analyse evenements in several neutron/gamma detectors independently wish mean evenement per evenement to know if the same evenement happens in two detector at the same time.
But unfortunately i’m a noob at root, so i know what i want to do, but how can i do it ?
I know that the fonction GetEntry() can return me the evenement () but i don’t even know how to use it.

Sincerely,

Dear @KillianUB ,

Thanks for reaching out to the forum! You are giving very little information to help you, but I will try nonetheless.

For data analysis with ROOT, I suggest you always use RDataFrame.

For your specific use case, I am imagining your dataset has some column representing the fact that a certain event has happened in a detector.

df = ROOT.RDataFrame("mydataset", "myfile.root")
df = df.Filter("event_happend_in_detector_1 && event_happened_in_detector_2")
# Now the data frame only will consider events that match the condition above
# You can continue your analysis as necessary

Keep in mind the snippet above is just fore demonstration purposes, you will need to study the RDataFrame interface and your own dataset in order to arrive at the solution you need.

Cheers,
Vincenzo

Hello, thanks for your answer. I have Trees with tons of graph all based on the number of evenement. I can navigate from one to another detector to get the number of evenement in only one detector depending of lot of thing such as Psd, Tof … What i would like is creating a code able to navigate in evenements one per one, and for each evenement, navigate in all detctor to see if a neutron has been detected in several detector or no. So in a human code, what i’d like look’s like :

• First evenement → check every detectors → let assume 2 detector has detected a neutron → so i have 1 evenement detected by two detectors …
    I would like it for every evenements and get the hist of it.