Trouble with fit function

Hello,

I am new to coding and root. I am learning how to use root for a summer program and I have ran into a problem I do not understand. Below I have copied my code. (when I tried uploading a message told me new users cannot post links)

My goal: I want to make a program that will go through ever fit option root offers and find the fit option that has the lowest chi2 value. Then, I want to graph the option with the best fit.

My problem: I am not sure how to graph with the best fit, unless the best fit is the last option. For some reason, if I remove the gaus option from the array of const char*, no graph is created. Also, the position of where the gaus option is in that array changes the resulting graph.

My thoughts: I believe this has something to do with the hist->Fit(bestfit); part of my code, as I am not sure I fully grasp what this is doing yet. Any comments would be awesome!

Cheers

/////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////

// chi2 analysis for many fits
void analysis1()
{

TH1F *hist = new TH1F("hist", "histogram", 100, 0, 10);

TRandom *rand = new TRandom2(50);

fstream file;
file.open("data.txt", ios::out);

for (int i = 0; i < 1e4; i++)
{
	double r = rand->Gaus(5,1);
	//cout << r << endl;
	file << r << endl;;
}

file.close();

file.open("data.txt", ios::in);

double value;

while(1)
{
	file >> value;
	hist->Fill(value);
	if(file.eof()) break;
}

file.close();

hist->GetXaxis()->SetTitle("Distrobution");
hist->GetYaxis()->SetTitle("Entries");

const char* fit_arr[23] = { "expo", "pol0", "pol1", "pol2", "pol3", "pol4", "pol5", "pol6", "pol7", "pol8", "pol9", "cheb0", "cheb1", "cheb2", "cheb3", "cheb4", "cheb5", "cheb6", "cheb7", "cheb8", "cheb9" ,"gausn" ,"gaus" };

TF1 *fit[23];
double min = 1e100;
const char* bestfit = "No fit";
int improvements = 0;

for (int j = 0; j < 23; j++) 
{