Trouble installing ROOT 6 Ubuntu 15.10, GCC cling error

Hi guys,

I’ll preface this by saying I’m totally new to Linux so these might be some very trivial and noob-ish mistakes.

So I’ve been trying to install root via the quick installation, and ran into a few hickups along the way. However now I’m stuck at the cmake --build, when executing:

[ 13%] Building CXX object interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/CIFactory.cpp.o

Throwing me these errors

/home/david/programs/cernroot_2/root/interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CIFactory.cpp:530:4: error: #error "cling does not support the GCC 5 ABI yet."
 #  error "cling does not support the GCC 5 ABI yet."
    ^
/home/david/programs/cernroot_2/root/interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CIFactory.cpp:531:4: error: #error "See https://sft.its.cern.ch/jira/browse/ROOT-7947"
 #  error "See https://sft.its.cern.ch/jira/browse/ROOT-7947"
    ^
interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/build.make:175: recipe for target 'interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/CIFactory.cpp.o' failed
make[2]: *** [interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/CIFactory.cpp.o] Error 1
CMakeFiles/Makefile2:8979: recipe for target 'interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/all' failed
make[1]: *** [interpreter/cling/lib/Interpreter/CMakeFiles/clingInterpreter.dir/all] Error 2
Makefile:136: recipe for target 'all' failed
make: *** [all] Error 2

A quick google search wasn’t too fruitful. My basic English comprehension skills suggest to me that my GCC version that came with Ubuntu 15.10 is incompatible, so my thought is either find a way to rollback to an older GCC version, or reinstall Ubuntu to a LTS distribution. I don’t have much on my Linux hard drive so this isn’t too daunting for me. Any other suggestions?

Thanks for the help in advance!

Hi,