Tree question

Hi,
I’m new to root and I was reading the documentation on trees (12Trees.pdf) where it discusses “Example 4: A Tree with an Event Class”. So in the routine tree4w(), where it creates two branches:

[code] //create a Tree file tree4.root
TFile f(“tree4.root”,“RECREATE”);

// Create a ROOT Tree
TTree t4(“t4”,“A Tree with Events”);

// Create a pointer to an Event object
Event *event = new Event();

// Create two branches, split one.
t4.Branch(“event_split”, &event,16000,99);
t4.Branch(“event_not_split”, &event,16000,0);

[/code]
And fills the appropriate Event class where fNtrack is a data member in class Event:

[code]class Event : public TObject {

private:
char fType[20]; //event type
char *fEventName; //run+event number in character format
Int_t fNtrack; //Number of tracks
Int_t fNseg; //Number of track segments
Int_t fNvertex;
UInt_t fFlag;
Double32_t fTemperature;
Int_t fMeasures[10];
Double32_t fMatrix[4][4];
Double32_t *fClosestDistance; //[fNvertex][0,0,6]
EventHeader fEvtHdr;
TClonesArray *fTracks; //->array with all tracks
TRefArray *fHighPt; //array of High Pt tracks only
TRefArray *fMuons; //array of Muon tracks only
TRef fLastTrack; //reference pointer to last track
TRef fWebHistogram; //EXEC:GetWebHistogram reference to an histogram in a TWebFile
TH1F *fH; //->
TBits fTriggerBits; //Bits triggered by this event.
Bool_t fIsValid; //

static TClonesArray *fgTracks;
static TH1F *fgHist
…[/code]

So after filling the tree, it attempts to read the same tree just created (in routine tree4r()):

[code] //note that we use “new” to create the TFile and TTree objects !
//because we want to keep these objects alive when we leave this function.
TFile *f = new TFile(“tree4.root”);
TTree t4 = (TTree)f->Get(“t4”);

// create a pointer to an event object. This will be used
// to read the branch values.
Event *event = new Event();

// get two branches and set the branch address
TBranch *bntrack = t4->GetBranch(“fNtrack”);