TObject::IsOnHeap usage

I was looking through the documentation on TObject, and I ran across the IsOnHeap() function. I was surprised, because I hadn’t thought it possible for a C++ object to know how it had been allocated. I started playing around with it, and found some rather inconsistent results, as shown below. The left is how the object was constructed, and the right is whether TObject::IsOnHeap believes it to be on the heap or on the stack.

stack: stack new: heap shared_ptr (make_shared): stack shared_ptr (new): heap unique_ptr: heap placement new onto stack: stack placement new onto heap: stack On stack, in container: stack On heap, in container: stack On stack, in containerobj: stack On heap, in containerobj: heap modified stack: heap

Given how unreliable this function is, for what purposes should it be used? Some of the test results differ depending on whether I compile with or without optimization, so it must be relying on undefined behavior.

The testing code is below, and was run on Debian 8, using g++ v4.9.2. This behavior was the same in both root 5.34/36 and 6.06/02.

[code]// Compile with
// g++ -std=c++11 Program.cc -o Program $(root-config --cflags --libs)

#include
#include

#include “TObject.h”

std::string string_result(bool is_on_heap) {
return is_on_heap ? “heap” : “stack”;
}

void funcA() {
char buf[6sizeof(TObject)];
memset(buf, 0x99, 3
sizeof(TObject));
}

void funcB() {
TObject obj[3];
std::cout << "modified stack: " << string_result(obj[0].IsOnHeap()) << std::endl;
}

struct Container {
TObject obj;
};

struct ContainerObj : TObject {
TObject obj;
};

int main(){
{
TObject obj;
std::cout << "stack: " << string_result(obj.IsOnHeap()) << std::endl;
}

{
TObject* obj = new TObject;
std::cout << "new: " << string_result(obj->IsOnHeap()) << std::endl;
delete obj;
}

{
auto obj = std::make_shared();
std::cout << "shared_ptr (make_shared): " << string_result(obj->IsOnHeap()) << std::endl;
}

{
auto obj = std::shared_ptr(new TObject);