The evalation of TMVA method

Dear TMVA experts,

I am a beginner to learning TMVA. I am using small size samples of signal and background to do the training and testing with SVM model, and then applied the results to a large signal sample. I expect to get a similar “SVM response” distribution, however, the “SVM response” distribution from the large signal sample is quite different with the one from the training and testing.
Two plots are attached here, one show the over-training check and one show the SVM response from my signal sample. Does anyone know why this happens? How can I solve this problem?

Thanks a lot for the help in advance!
overtrain_SVM

Hi,

There seems to be an error with the overtraining plot, could you re-upload it?

In general: The two plots should agree if the training converged without overtraining. However, if the training and test samples are too small they need not be indicative of the true final distribution.

Can you increase the size of your training sample?

Cheers,
Kim

Hi Kim,

Thanks a lot for the help, I uploaded the png version. The training and test samples (together) is around 1/5 of the signal MC samples size (the 2nd plot above), it’s around 2700 events.
Is there any idea to find what is the appropriate size for the training and test samples?

Many thanks!
D

Thanks for remind, it seems that I saved the eps file to a pdf, and it’s not works.
I uploaded png verion

Thanks for the re-upload of the relevant plots!

The overtraining plots actually look quite good (good agreement between training and validation), this taken with the fact that (if I remember correctly) an SVM has quite few parameters indicates that overtraining should not be a problem. (A good rule of thumb is to have “significantly” more data than parameters e.g. an order of magnitude.)

This makes me wonder how exactly the second plot is generated. Could you elaborate here; Maybe there is a difference in the transformations applied to the data?