Tgeo and pixel modelling

I’m relatively new to ROOT and completely new to the ROOT geometry package. Currently I’m trying to model pixel detectors with more generic pixel shapes than simply same sized rectangular ones for the purpose of clustering and hit position determination.

Since usually a lot of the sensor is somewhat periodic I think that using the TGeo is generally a good idea, also because many volumes can be easily described via subdividing larger ones, thus allowing fast navigation. The problem I currently encounter is the connection of pixel coordinate (simply the pixel X,Y “coordinate”) and the actual node representing the pixel.
I.e. I have the information “pixel 4|16 and pixel 4|17 have been hit” and now I want to get the position of the volumes in the node representing these pixels. Is there any good approach to that? I’m dealing with a several 100 000 pixels per detector plane and need to model something in the order of 10 planes.

Cheers,
Tobias

Hi,

You just need to have an appropriate indexing scheme. You are likely dividing on both x and y axis each of your 10 planes, something like:

row = plane_i->Divide("row", 1, nx);
 pixel = row->Divide("pixel", 2, ny);

Doing this, you get a hierarchy of nodes like:
…/plane_(1 to 10)/row_(1 to nx)/pixel_(1 to ny) which you can browse in a TBrowser. To check which of your pixels was hit, you need:

• a correspondence between (plane_index, row_index, pixel_index) and your internal pixel mapping
  • to find out these indices for the current node, assuming that the current node (as given by TGeoManager::GetCurrentNode) points to it (after some FindNode(x,y,z) query)

The first you need to sort out yourself, for the second you have some simple tools:
node = gGeoManager->GetCurrentNode();

if (node->GetVolume() == pixel_volume) {
   pixel_index = node->GetNumber();
   mother_node = gGeoManager->GetMother(1);
   row_index = mother_node->GetNumber();
   mother_node = gGeoManager->GetMother(2);