Text entry in displaying histograms

Hi,

I am an undergraduate student creating a gui for a project. I have a function that will display a histogram when the user enters the name of that histogram into a text entry field in a dialogue box and a button is pressed. I have a draw function in which there is a line of code:

fFrame->Draw(chain name)

I then enter the chain name into the text entry in the dialogue and press an Ok button. How do I have it such that when I press this button my histogram is displayed?
I have tried a few things and have had no luck.

Thanks,

Lisaq

Hi Lisa,

I will prepare and provide an example in the beginning of the next week.

Cheers, Ilka

Thank you for your help. It is much appreciated.

Lisa

Does anyone have an example of code in which they do a similar thing to what I described in my previous message?

I would be most grateful for you help,

Lisa

Dear Lisa,

I did not forget the example you need… some urgent tasks posponed my work on it. Thank you for your understanding.

Cheers, Ilka

No problem. Thank you for your help, Ilka.

Hi Lisa,

There is an example in the attached file with an main window application and a dialog window via which you can enter one of the both histogram names: hpx, hpxpy. After you hit Enter key, the entered histogram name is shown and you can draw the histogram in the main application window by clicking on the Draw&Close button. Please create and copy the file hsimple.root from $ROOTSYS/tutorials into the directory where you are going to execute this macro. To simplify the code I did not include the code for checking if this file exists; if the histogram names are entered correct ly (i.e. hpx, hpxpy), etc.

Thank you for your patience.

Best regards, Ilka
dialogExample2.C (6.79 KB)

Hi Ilka,

Thank you for the macro. I have tried to run it by creating a directory with the macro and the hsimple.C in. When I enter ROOT I type in .x dialogExample2.C and I get the error:

root [0] .x dialogExample2.C