TDataFrame's Declare ignores the result of a Filter

Hi,

I started playing around with the TDataFrame classes today. I am seeing a weird error. I would assume that if I define a new variable using Define for events passing a Filter, then it would only be calculated for events passing the Filter. However I am seeing it calculated for all events. Is this the expected behavior? To me it seems like a waste of CPU.

I’ve attached an example reproducing it. I make a TTree with two branches; na and a. The a is a list of floats while na is the number of elements in a. I then Filter to get only entries with na!=0. Then I Define a variable called lasta by saying “a[na-1]”. This crashes. By adding printf() statement, I see that it is trying to calculate the na==0 (aka a[-1]) entry.

rootdftest.py (940 Bytes)

Also I noticed that Define runs the calculation right away, not only when the value is requested. Is this also expected?

Edit: I forgot to mention that I am using the latest pro root version 6.10/08.

Hi kkrizka,
thank you for trying out TDataFrame. You are right, that is not the expected behavior.
I can reproduce your issue in v6.10 and I can see that has been resolved in v6.11 and master (thanks for providing a drop-in reproducer by the way!): the Define is not executed, as no event loop is triggered in your script.
Also in these newer versions adding print result_def.Count().GetValue() at the end of the script prints 9 as expected (and never triggers the Define, as its value is never requested).

I will check whether this is something that we can fix in a subsequent v6.10 patch release.
In the meanwhile, if you want to play with TDataFrame I suggest you download v6.11 or soon v6.12 as we added quite a lot of new features and fixed several issues.
Cheers,
Enrico

Hi Enrico,

Thank you for the prompt reply! I can also confirm that this works in v6.11.

Karol Krizka