Tab completion broken with ipython 2.3.1 and root 5.30.06

I am a software developer at LCLS at SLAC. We make ROOT available to our users. Recently we upgraded ipython. After doing this, if one does

import ROOT
import collections # or any package
collections.

that is, hit tab to get the tab completion, what you see is that all the private attributes are exposed, and a ( has been added to the data members.

This is IPython 2.3.1 and root 5.30.06. The options we use when we install root are:

--enable-soversion --disable-rpath --enable-explicitlink \
        --enable-python --enable-roofit

Is this a known problem? Does anyone think it will be fixed by upgrading to 6.0.2?

best,

David Schneider

Hi,

ROOT 5.30.06 is quite old (January 2012). I would suggest to try with a more recent version of ROOT, like for example 5.34.15, or 6.02.04

Cheers, Bertrand.

Hi,

I’d have to look up the detailed history, but yes, there was a release where tab completion was broken. ROOT.py adds a handler to find ROOT objects that appear lazily. At one point, some of that code was raising a Python exception, breaking the completion silently. So yes, updating would be the ticket, or fixing the local ROOT.py (or just remove the custom handler from there).

Cheers,
WIm

Hi,

We still have the problem after upgrading to root 5.34.25. My colleague installed it, but I see that we have the ROOT.py file that starts with

from future import generators

@(#)root/pyroot:$Id$

Author: Wim Lavrijsen (WLavrijsen@lbl.gov)

Created: 02/20/03

Last: 11/17/14

“”"PyROOT user module.

o) install lazy ROOT class/variable lookup as appropriate
o) feed gSystem and gInterpreter for display updates
o) add readline completion (if supported by python build)
o) enable some ROOT/CINT style commands
o) handle a few special cases such as gPad, STL, etc.
o) execute rootlogon.py/.C scripts

“”"

version = '6.2.0’
author = ‘Wim Lavrijsen (WLavrijsen@lbl.gov)’

if I comment out the line

# install the hook