Supported Fedora for ROOT

Hello ROOT users,

Can some experts out there tell me if Fedora Cora is well tested and stable for ROOT. I see that binaries are available for FC2, but we would like to install FC3 or FC4 on our new server. Which one would be suggested? I am thinking FC3 would be the best, what is your opinion?

Much thanks

Hi,

I am not a ROOT expert but I installed ROOT 5.08 from source to FC3 and it works fine.

Thanks for the feedback.

While talking about Fedora Core:

I wonder why there are no rpm prebuilds for FC3, FC4, SL 3 and SL4, only the binary packages from where you are able to build rpms.
It would make sense for example to set up a yum repository for these distributions so that system administrators do not have to take care of updating root by hand.
For Fedora Core there is also the option to submit packages to Fedora Core Extras.

In both cases every Fedora Core/SL/RHEL installation could easily install root with a simple command like yum install root.cern or something. The packages would be updated if needed during the usual system update processes

Are there special reasons that there is nothing like that prepared? Or is it just lack of manpower/interest?

liquidat

If other people are searching for the same:
It looks like there is no repository provided, but if you download the source version you will find a spec.in somewhere deep in the diretcory build/package/rpm

To compiel an rpm package, switch to the root source directory, and input this:

./configure --prefix=/whateveryouwant --ptheroptions
make redhat

Change the other options and the prefix to values according to your system (so --prefix=/usr for Fedora Core for example).