Strange problem when inheriting from std::fstream

Hello,

First off, I’m brand new to ROOT, so apologies if this problem is a waste of someone’s time.

Long story short, I was trying to add a source file into root, and it crashed with a stack trace whenever I tried to use it. I wasn’t terribly surprised, since I didn’t quite yet know what I was doing, so I decided to try a very simple example. Here is said example:

[code]#include
#include
#include

using namespace std;

class testclass : public fstream {
int i;
};

int main() {
testclass test;
test.open(“C:\test.txt”, fstream::in);
string str;
getline(test, str);
cout << str << endl;
}[/code]

This code, when loaded into root, produces the same problem; I get a stack trace from ROOT, see the wonderful “root.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close” error from Windows, and that’s it. Thinking maybe this was a windows thing, I got on my linux computer and did the same thing, with no luck. Luckily, however, it gave me more information; the terrible error is a Segmentation fault.

Here is what I saw for the whole ROOT session in the command line:

Compiled on 14 December 2006 for win32.

CINT/ROOT C/C++ Interpreter version 5.16.16, November 24, 2006
Type ? for help. Commands must be C++ statements.
Enclose multiple statements between { }.
root [0] .x setup_env.C
root [1] .L Testfile.cpp
root [2] main()

==========================================
=============== STACKTRACE ===============

================ Thread 0 ================
  ntdll!KiFastSystemCallRet()
  libCore!TWinNTSystem::DispatchOneEvent()

================ Thread 1 ================
  kernel32!WaitForSingleObject()
  libWin32gdk!TGWin32ProxyBase::ForwardCallBack()

================ Thread 2 ================
  kernel32!Sleep()
  libCore!TWinNTSystem::TimerThread()

================ Thread 3 ================
  libCint!G__getfunction()
  libCint!G__loadlonglong()

============= END STACKTRACE =============