Speed up TVector operations? std::vector?

Hello, I have a compiled analysis program which does operations on values stored in a TVectorD. The TVectorDs have 20002 elements, and the operations include boxcar smoothing (over 100s of elements), searches for threshold crossings, and summing the elements in the TVectorD.

My code runs extremely slowly (~30 minutes for 30000 entries in a TTree, each entry with 3 TVectorDs). I’ve checked with valgrind and it seems that the culprit is indeed TVectorD operations. I’ve included the callgrind annotated output in case someone wants to check that. It is my first time using valgrind.

I’m trying to figure out how to make the code run faster, so I’m hoping that there are more efficient ways to do that I am doing, namely the smoothing, threshold crossing searches, and sums. Are std::vectors better than TVectorDs for this kind of thing? I’m using some TVectorD-specific methods (like .Sum() and .Norm2Sqr()), but it wouldn’t be too hard to code my own functions that do this for a std::vector. I’ve attached the actual analysis code in case people want to look at it.

Thanks to any experts with advice in this matter.
Jean-François Caron
standard_analysis.C (20.9 KB)
valgrind_summary.txt (8.54 KB)

Hi,

The callgrind summary suggest a lots of call to TVectorT::operator() which is ‘slow’. Do you know where they are coming from (for example you could send me the complete callgrind output).

Thanks,
Philippe.

Hi Philippe, I have attached the full callgrind output, but I had to gzip it since it was greater than 2MB.

The TVectorT::operator() which is accessed a lot is from the threshold-crossing algorithms that are applied to various waveforms and from the smoothing of waveforms. For example, my smoothing function looks like this: