Sorting to find coincident events

I have a large TTree with three branches:
“Timestamp”: time from start of measurement in picoseconds.
“Channel”: The TTree contains data from 8 different detectors and the channel specifies which detector the specific event is from, it is a number between 0 and 7.
“Energy”: a measurement of energy

I need a way to sort my tree (or create a new one) so that it only contains coincident events between different detectors. A coincident event is in this case an event where the time difference abs(Timestamp[1] - Timestamp[2]) <= 400. I want to store the energy of both events and which detector pair it belongs to, so I later can create 2D histograms with energy in detector x vs energy in detector y, containing only data from coincident events.

I do not know how I should move forward in sorting my data and I appreaciate any help possible.

I am new to ROOT and do not know any c++, I would appreciate an answer with PyRoot.

Dear Rasmus,

Thanks for the post and welcome to the ROOT Community!

If I understand correctly, you have a dataset with 3 columns, the first being Timestamp, which is of an integer type.
You would like to sort your dataset according to the first column.
Is that correct?

Best,
D

Dear Danilo

Thank you for asking. Yes that is correct, being able to sort the tree based on the timestamp value would be very helpful.

Best,
Rasmus

Dear @RasmusWallentin ,

Thanks for reaching out to the forum. I will try to guide you further with your case.

My understanding is that this is indeed not a case of sorting, so I will ask you a few more questions.

abs(Timestamp[1] - Timestamp[2]) <= 400