Slow Geometry visualization

_ROOT Version:6.22/08
_Platform: linuxx8664gcc

My dear colleagues,

I am trying to browse and visualize a geometry file (to save some pictures from it at specific positions), but it is extremely slow.
I tried it on different computers (even on a powerful gaming computer), but it is really low at the point of making no sense even try to rotate the visualized geometry.

How can I solve this??

This is my workflow.

>root my_geo_file.root
 root [0] TBrowser xx

Then I look for the master volume:
Right-click → Draw
as for the drawing option, I use “ogl”.

I really appreciate any help, as I am a newbie with ROOT geometry work.

ciao,
Dario

Hi Dario,

Can you provide your geometry file that I can test it?

In newer ROOT versions there is web-based geometry viewer,
which uses different visualization approach. Probably it can be useful for you.

Regards,
Sergey

test.geo.root (166.9 KB)
he it goes part of it.

How do I use this web-based stuff?

Hi Dario,

I see no problem to visualize your geometry.
Just try:

TGeoManager::Import("test.geo.root");
   gGeoManager->GetTopVolume()->Draw("ogl");

To test web-based display, just run root --web.

And this is an example with plain JSROOT.

Regards,
Sergey

1 Like

Using TBrowser, it is still very slow. But using web-based browsing improves it a lot.

Now, there are some missing controls, or some at least I do not manage to find, like view selection.

But my original question got a solution.

Thanks a lot.
Dario

How long it takes? For me it is just below 1 sec.

Not all functions of original viewer implemented in web versions.
But if you miss something - I can try to add it.

I have question about your geometry file.
How it was produced?
Do you have macros?

Can you show part of the code where TGeoVolumeAssembly instances are created.

Currently when I try to import your file, ROOT crashes in TGeoManager destructor afterwards.

I also ping @agheata to let him know about problem.