Setting validation_split in TMVA DNN

Hello, everyone.
I’m new to TMVA. I met a problem when trying MNIST multiclassification in pyTMVA.

My purpose is to mimic the well-known MNIST classification code in pyTMVA.
(https://colab.research.google.com/github/AviatorMoser/keras-mnist-tutorial/blob/master/MNIST%20in%20Keras.ipynb#scrollTo=nHLN8vcb6rws)
It has 60K events for training and 10K events for testing.
Thanks to the good compatibility, I could build the model easily. Now I got about 97.8% validation accuracy.

The only problem left is the validation set!
I want to train my network using all the 60K training events, without validation error check.
And test my network after all the training epochs end, using 10K testing events.
However, my TMVA automatically splits my training events into 48K training set and 12K validation set.

How can I deal with this problem?
Is there any option to set the validation fraction, so that I can give more the training event number?

There was, for TMlpANN, but not for DNN, according to the Users Guide…

@moneta Perhaps you can help?

1 Like

Hi

You can use the option ValidationSize=value when booking the DL Method, where the value can be the absolute number of validation events or the fraction. Unfortunately you cannot give a zero value, you can use as minimum number the batch size.

But, let me understand, would you like to train using all training data and stop the training given just the number of epoch for example and not using the validation error, correct ? Or would you like to use the testing data as validation data ?

Best regards

Lorenzo

1 Like

Thank you, dear Lorenzo!
It worked well!

The Xavier’s code in the above link is using all 60K training data, and stop the training given just the number of epoch.
As practice, I just wanted to mimic that code.

Now, with ValidationSize=1 (so that it trains with 59,999 samples), my code gives exactly the same result with Xavier’s code!