Setting ROOT for a dummie

Hi, I am totally new to linux and I have to start root. I am trying to do that with this build from source instruction and in the quick start point 4 I copy
“make --build . --target install [-- ]”
but I do not know what to do with the part <options…> and I get a response:
$ cmake --build . --target install [-- ]
bash: options: No such file or directory
When I erased this part completely sth was happening but it took very long and did not finish.
Sorry for writing so chaotically but this is completely new to me and I do not know how to name some of the parts.

Please read tips for efficient and successful posting and posting code

_ROOT Version: v6.22.00
Platform: Not Provided
Compiler: Not Provided

cmake --build . --target install [-- <options to the native tool>]

Hello and welcome to the ROOT forum!

If you are new to Linux, I’d suggest to get ROOT from a binary distribution: https://root.cern.ch/releases/release-62200/#binary-distributions

If you don’t find your OS in the list, you can follow this guide to build it from sources: https://root.cern/install/build_from_source/

Cheers,
Jakob

Thanks for the advice.
I am trying to build it from source because I was instructed to do so for project that I am going to attend. Could you explain what I am doing wrong? I am attaching what I tried to do and the view of the folder.

It looks like a typo in the cmake command for the location of your ROOT sources: There is a missing slash at the beginning of the directory. Try with /home/natalia/... (instead of home/natalia/...).

Cheers,
Jakob

1 Like

After repairing that typo I occured another error… I am attaching my terminal messeges, because I do not know how to deal with that, but I am sure I cannot go forward

natalia@natalia-VirtualBox:~/praktyki/root_build$ cmake --build . --target install
Scanning dependencies of target LZMA
[ 0%] Creating directories for ‘LZMA’
[ 0%] Performing download step (verify and extract) for ‘LZMA’