Set x-axis to function using the GUI?

Hello,
I’m still a beginner and I’m sorry for this probably incredibly easy question, although I still don’t understand how to do it the best way. I use so far mainly the GUI for some simple tasks until I understand more…

Attached is a picture with all the windows etc.

• I have a Tree with 5 leafs: TimeStamp, ADC1, ADC2, ADC3 andADC4.
  • I plot the ADC2 on the Y-axis and set the binning to 8192 channels (which is the number of channels we have).
  • I would like to put the correct values on the x-axis and my expression is: x = 0.3298*Channel-14.046. : How do I do that?

I’ve looked in the tutorials + extra material I have in the office from a beginners course but I don’t find any hints… This would be an energy calibration for my spectrum and be used for all data from now on. I will use the same procedure for the other detectors (ADC2-4).

i’m grateful for any help :slight_smile:
-Elisabeth

Elizabeth,

In your expression “x = 0.3298*Channel-14.046”, what is Channel? a variable of your Tree?

Rene

The x-axis in the figure shows 8192 bins. I have separately calculated that the linear function that will fit the peaks in the spectrum (it’s a calibration spectrum so I know them) is the one I mentionned. The Channel = the bin number = 1 to 8192… I hope that makes sense?

Or is there a better way to make an energy calibration of the spectrum’s x-axis? I know the peak energy of the 4 main peaks (59, 661, 1173 and 1332 keV) in the spectrum.

In the TreeViewer create an expression, eg (see HELP button)
e1= "0.3298*ADC1-14.046"
then drag&drop e1 to the x or y slot and click on the Draw button at the bottom left of the viewer.

Alternatively from the command line, you can do

mytree.Draw("0.3298*ADC1-14.046")
Rene

Thanks a lot, Rene!
It works perfectly :slight_smile:

Now I just have to figure out how to get the number of counts in my peaks.

Elizabeth,