Segmentation fault 11, calling root; Mac OS X El Capitan

Hello,

I am new to ROOT and am trying to use it within another genomics based application called cnvnator that calls ROOT.
The basic command to run cnvnator is:
./cnvnator -root NA12878.root -chrom chr8 -tree NA12878.bam

-root specifies the name of the output file.

I have never run this application (i.e. cnvnator) before and am also new to ROOT.
I installed ROOT and it seems successfully installed as calling root from the shell gives the expected output.

When I run this command {./cnvnator -root NA12878.root -chrom chr8 -tree NA12878.bam} the only output is:
Segmentation fault 11.

I’ve had this error after running other genomics based apps and I recall the issue was with the size of the stack that had to be increased due to the memory demands. However, I also wonder if this error could be related to running ROOT on my macbook that is running OS X El Capitan 11.5. Are there any known issues with running ROOT on OS X El Capitan 11.5?

Can anyone please offer any suggestions?

Thank you,
Mark

[quote=“baumeist”]Are there any known issues with running ROOT on OS X El Capitan 11.5?

Thank you,
Mark[/quote]

Yes, sure, it’s a well-known issue - El Capitan 11.5 does not exist.
And segmentation fault is well-known: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Segmentation_fault

Yes, you can debug it (explained, for example, here en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Debugging).
Or you can ask authors of this very well-known ‘cnvnator’ for help.

Thank you for your reply and suggestions.

I’m not sure what you mean by this

“Yes, sure, it’s a well-known issue - El Capitan 11.5 does not exist”.

Is is because I left out the first two digits in the version OS X El Capitan 10.11.5?
or possibly because ROOT is not specifically compatible with OS X El Capitan 10.11.5?

Can you please elaborate a little more?

Mark

[quote=“baumeist”]
Is is because I left out the first two digits in the version OS X El Capitan 10.11.5?
Mark[/quote]